My Series Statement

This is the series statement that will be displayed along with my work. I like how it flows. I thought it was best to keep my statement short and allow my audience to have their own opinion on what the work represents to them. 

Faceblind

“The horror of being faceless. Of forgetting one’s own appearance, of having no face. The face is the mirror image of the self.”

-John M. Hull (Blind)

When photography first came into widespread use, the majority of the general public had never seen a clear and crisp reflection of themselves. This was because few people had access to mirrors, which were a luxury item possessed by the wealthy. Therefore, ordinary people had no awareness of their image or any way of keeping track of the slow ravages of time on their own faces. My series explores the lack of perception of ones own identity.

 

Leave a comment